HANG KENH COMMUNAL HOUSE
Hang Kenh Communal House (pseudonym was Nhan Tho or Flying Dragon communal house) and located on Nguyen Cong Tru street (under Trung Hanh hamlet, Former Hang Kenh commune). According to stele, this was built in 1717 (Mau Tuat lunar calendar), in Hang Kenh street.
In 1841 it was moved to the current position. The communal house was built in large scale for many consecutive years (about 15 years). This is a very Ngo Quyen memorial, a nation's historic hero. The most prominent architecture of 'Great Communal House' is in accordance with 'Chong giuong ke hien' (Oriental architecture) with six rows of pillars, including 7 purlins with 42 iron-wood pillars with circumference of 2m and height of 5.10m. Carved sculptures of various images and figures indicates an unique wooden sculpt art and this was one of the most typical communal houses of early 18th century time. In this communal house only, there are nearly 900 dragons carved by artists with the Le dynasty's art. Mother dragons and little dragons flying in the sky with stylized birds and vegetation. Visiting this house, we seem to lose our way in a very lively, sparkling and fanciful dragon world because each dragon is of colorful and expressive nuance imagined and expressed by ancient spirits through exquisite talented hands.
Next to the communal house, it is the temple of literature of An Duong rural district with steles bearing the engraved names of feudal bachelors and doctors of former An Duong district.
The inhabitants of Hang Kenh commune built a communal house instead of a temple to worship Ngo Quyen. So Ngo Quyen who was a real character became the holy belief to stay immortally in the villagersmemory. They are likely to keep him forever in their mind, and their lives of happiness, sorrow and difficulties.